SMART Company and Board of Directors

SMART Company and Board of Directors

Smart Not For Profit Company and Board of Directors

SMART Company

The SMART membership company adds value to the SMART Congressional S&T initiative by executing and integrating the regional vision of the Caucus, the Federal Executive Branch DC HQs, our International Allies and our Mid-Atlantic States.

Our mission is to provide Mid-Atlantic technical community leadership to address national and international Science & Technology topics for Research and Development, technology-based Economic Development and STEM Education / Workforce Development. 

Our goals to accomplish this mission are:

– Develop & increase inter-state, cross disciplinary collaboration among the Mid-Atlantic tech communities.

– Foster the collaboration among all elements of the tech community;

— academia, businesses, government labs/field agencies and related professional associations.

– Promote existing and seek new Mid-Atlantic S&T enterprise.

– Enhance STEM Education and Workforce Development.

We execute the above via our 15 Technology Groups (by tech topic and “market”) of our membership and contacts, overseen by our Board of Directors. Our products are:

– Networking to addressing S&T case studies and issues.

– Projects

– Events and working meetings to support above.

Since 1999, SMART has:

– Addressed multiple case studies for Congress, Fed Exec Branch and the States.

– Directly facilitated $575M+ in projects and spun off much more.

– Conducted 268 events.

SMART Board of Directors (Note: Bios are being complied)

Board Executive Committee
Chair Philip J. Jaurigue, Sabre Systems, CEO

DE Dr. Noureddine Melikechi, Delaware State U, VP R&D

MD Jack Pappas, Pappas Associates International, CEO

NJ Dr. Donald Sebastian, NJIT 

PA Kevin Doyle, Trinity Capital Advisors, CEO

State Liaison
MD Tom Evans, MD DBED, Senior PM
NJ Upendra Chivukula, NJ Assembly, Deputy Speaker

Federal Executive Branch Field Agency Liaison

Jyuji Hewitt, US Army RDECOM, Dep Commander

Board Members

Robert Meade DE PNC Bank

Debbie Burrell MD Burrell International Group, CEO
Francis Pierce MD DSA Inc, CEO

Michael Warner NJ SMH, President; Col (USA-Ret)
Dr. Donald Sebastian NJ NJIT, VP for Research & Development
John Laocntora, Drexel U (On Site at FAA TC), Professor; Retired NJ ANG Lt Col

Thomas Fenerty PA Navmar Applied Sciences Corporation, President
Eugene DelCoco PA The Blackfield Group, President
Phillip Jaurigue PA Sabre Systems, CEO

William McLaughlin PA, Irish-American Business Chamber & Network, President

Kevin Doyle PA, Trinity Capital Advisors CEO

Ex Officio
Executive Director Robert Carullo
Secretary/Treasurer Pamela Fillion

Technical Director Thomas Milhous